Press "Enter" to skip to content

Iberdrola adds former minister García Tejerina to its list of former politicians at the top of the group

Iberdrola continues to recruit politicians. Isabel García Tejerina, former Minister of Agriculture with the Government of Mariano Rajoy, has been proposed to join the board of directors as an independent at the proposal of the Appointments Committee. His appointment, which is made by co-option, must be ratified by the general meeting of shareholders. With this election, the company fills the vacancy left by the resignation of Samantha Barber. In addition to being a director, Tejerina will be a member of the Sustainable Development Commission.

The signing is not entirely external. Tejerina was already part of the group headed by Ignacio Sánchez Galán as a member of the board of the Brazilian subsidiary, Neoenergía, since September 2020. On that same date, a fellow cabinet member, Fátima Báñez, who had been Minister of Employment, joined as Director of the Mexican subsidiary of the company. In the council he will also meet another PP minister, Ángel Acebes, who held the Interior portfolio during the 11-M attacks. Another politician, Antonio Miguel Carmona, formerly nominated for mayor of Madrid by the PSOE, has recently been recruited to occupy the vice-presidency of Iberdrola Spain and direct communication policy.

The list goes on. The group incorporated Emma Navarro, former Secretary General of the Treasury with Luis de Guindos, to the board of Iberdrola Spain this year, three months after leaving the position of Vice President of the European Investment Bank. This prompted the European Ombudsman, the Irish Emily O'Reilly, to open an investigation to assess the existence of a possible conflict of interest. The investigations focused on analyzing the management that the EIB made to authorize the arrival of the Spanish to an energy company that “had received loans” from the entity. Navarro was president of the ICO and director of the Bank of Spain.

Tejerina, who was Minister of Agriculture between April 2014 and June 2018, was born in Valladolid in 1968, is an agricultural engineer from the Polytechnic University of Madrid and a law degree from the University of Valladolid. She has been a deputy and secretary general of Agriculture and Food between 2000 and 2004 and between 2012 and 2014, under the orders of former Minister Miguel Arias Cañete. On March 11, 2020 he signed for the EY consultancy.

On the other hand, the board of directors has ratified the resolution adopted on October 26, 2021 regarding the distribution of an amount on account of the dividend corresponding to the year 2021, within the framework of the second edition of the optional dividend system Iberdrola Retribución Flexible for 2021. The company estimates that it will be at least 0.168 euros gross per share.

Know in depth all the sides of the coin.


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.